Friday Faves – June 14, 2013

Hey! You’re back in time for Friday Faves! This week I’m sharing (in no particular order) five of my current favorite templates. I know that I shared a template with you on Tuesday for Template Tuesday but that was mostly as a how-to of my creative process, today I’m focusing on the templates but I will show you a layout I made with each one to give you some ideas for using each template.

Now, you know I am on a few Creative Teams, there is one template here from a designer I CT for but I didn’t choose it to promote my designer (this time at least!), I chose it because, well, it would be one of my current favorites even if someone else had designed it! Lets jump right in!

I have a special space in my design spot for Sahlin Studio products. If you hadn’t noticed, many of the photos in my layouts are from Disney World. I just got back from a month trip there! Needless to say, I have a TON of photos to scrap! Sahlin Studios has a whole line devoted to Disney called “Project Mouse” that’s absolutely to-die-for! This template has nothing to do with that line other then it was created by the same designer, I just wanted to share…

Anyway, this template was a freebie from April off the Sahlin Studios’ blog (it’s still avalible today but I can’t guarantee how long it will be there). I like that this template continues off the page. It was a challenge sometimes to place pictures and elements because of this though. It challenged me a bit and I appreciate that! One thing that some people might find challenging is the lack of shadows on the template. Sometimes I enjoy having shadows already done but sometimes I end up changing all the shadows anyway so without any shadows, I can start fresh! Here is a picture of the template and the layout I made with it:

April 2013 Blog Freebie from Sahlin Studio


“Magical Mouse House”
Template: April 2013 Blog Freebie by Sahlin Studios
Kit: Various kits were used, all by Sahlin Studios

Next on my list is Template Revisited 11 by Scrapping with Liz. This template is all circles. I do squares, do you know how long it took me to complete this layout? Almost the entire month, I did a little bit here and there. I love how it turned out but it was certainly a challenge! I ended up choosing some beach photos, the Scrap Orchard iNSD Techno Geek kit and Down by the Shore by Scraps by Missy to complete this layout. I really like the uniqueness of having a template filled with circle layers! Here’s the template and the layout I ended up making with it:


“Beach Bum”
Template: Template Revisited 11 by Scrapping with Liz
Kit: iNSD TechnoGeek by Scrap Orchard Designers
Kit: Down by the Shore by Scraps By Missy

The third template that I want to share is from ChrissyW Digital’s Sample Pack 8. I originally created this as a CT layout but I’m sharing it because of what I did with the template. This template has a collection of squares, typically they would be used to clip paper and small photos to. I decided to go a different route and combine some of the square spaces to hold one larger picture. This put a creative spin on the layout and it came out looking great:

“Princess Birthday Kisses”
Template: Sample Pack 8 by ChrissyW Digital
Kit: Summer Meadow by ChrissyW Digital

This next template is very popular and very basic but it’s flexibility is what I love. This is Template A from Becky Higgins’ Project Life. I see this template used everywhere but what makes layouts made with this standout is how people adapt and change it to meet their layout needs. In this layout I combined card slots to place a larger picture while keeping the overall lines of the template. It’s an easy way to make a template your own. Take a look at the template and the changes I made to use it for my layout:

“Fort Wilderness”
Template: Template A by Becky Higgins Project Life
Kit: Various kits from Sahlin Studios

This last template is the new June freebie template from Angie Kovacs called Just Journal. I love the square collage area in the center. I think I gravitated toward this template because of it’s funky yet simple feel. I really enjoy templates with clean lines and open space. This template has both of those qualities, I was even able to use a paper that had a large graphic and it actually shows in the layout, I sometimes find that hard to accomplish with the other templates I use. I used Polka Dot Pixels kit “School Day” with a photo from our Disney World trip last month. Even though I took a lot of pictures, I’m glad there’s a large variety, there always seems to be a picture to use with whatever kit I choose! This template and kit go so well together:

folder

“The World”
Template: June Freebie Template by Angie Kovacs
Kit: School Day by Polka Dot Pixels

I hope you enjoyed the selection of templates and some ideas on how to use them. Just remember, a template is a starting point, don’t forget you can change them up to suit your needs! If you use any of these templates, leave me a link so that I can see what you created!

BeeTreeSig-web

4 thoughts on “Friday Faves – June 14, 2013

  1. Pingback: My Homepage

Leave a Reply

