Template Tuesday – June 18, 2013

Welcome to Template Tuesday! I’m going to showing you the “how-to” of  working with a “Quick-Page” today. If you don’t know, a “Quick-Page” or “QP” is a layout that is almost completely done and all you need to do is add your pictures, title and journaling. It’s a great way to get pictures in a layout if you’re short on time or worried that your skills aren’t that good, and let me tell you, they are probably better then you give yourself credit for!

Typically it is a .PNG file with one layer, the graphics are “flattened”, and the pictures go behind and peek though the photo spots. Some come with “photo spot” shapes to clip your pictures to, especially if there are many pictures close together. The one I’m sharing today is by ChrissyW Digital, from her “Spring At Last” kit. Here is what the quick page looks like “straight out of the box”:

Spring At Last – Quick Page Empty

The first thing that I added was my picture. Since this quick page only has one photo spot, a clipping shape isn’t needed. I re-sized and moved around my picture on the layer under this one until I was happy with the placement. At this point I had this:

Quick page with photo added

Next I decided to create my title with the “Spring At Last – button alpha“. I pulled the button letters that I needed, lined them up and re-sized them so they fit on the lines made by the paper strips. Then I took the button stitch and added the middle stitch to every-single-button… It was a little over the top to add all the stitches since the page looked fine without them but I wanted to add a little more because I had started with an almost complete page.

The one thing to remember: be aware of the direction of the shadows already on the page! If the elements you add have a shadow in another direction, the page won’t look right. Most people won’t pick up on what’s wrong at first but they will know something’s not right. The goal most of the time with digital pages is to “fool” the eye into thinking the digital page is “real”. Shadows are key to this! On this page, most of the elements are not bulky so it’s a little difficult to tell the shadow direction by the paper. As you can see looking at the bow over the picture, the “light” is coming from around the upper left corner. I tend to look at the bulkiest element first to find my shadow direction.

Quick page with title

The last step when using quick pages is to add your journaling and date. Sometimes a page doesn’t need journaling to tell the story, this picture was a bit generic so I added a little information about out “Meet and Greet” with the Disney Fairies. And that’s it! You’re done with your page! Take a look at the finished page:

“meet and greet” – Quick Page
Spring At Last QP1 by ChrissyW Digital
Spring At Last Alpha by ChrissyW Digital

Hopefully you try out some quick pages, they really are a great, quick way to get photos scrapped without being overwhelmed by papers, elements and alphas! The focus is on the pictures and the story! If you use this or another quick page, feel free to share it! I love seeing the wonderful pages you all can come up with! As always…

BeeTreeSig-web

8 thoughts on “Template Tuesday – June 18, 2013

Leave a Reply

