Template Tuesday – June 25, 2013

Welcome to “Template Tuesday” and the post that almost didn’t happen! You see, Photoshop Elements 11 and I had a little disagreement last night, it decided that the halftone filter wasn’t going to work properly anymore… after working just fine since the install. Why you ask? I have no idea… This put a kink into my plans for “Template Tuesday”. I’d planned to show you how to halftone pictures to use in superhero themed layouts like the one from yesterday’s post. I started out with this template (for Jessica Sprague’s 7 Days in June Challenges. Unfortunately, the links for this challenge are only good for one day so head over there and pick up today’s freebie and join the challenge!):

I rotated the template (this seems to be a new trend for me…), added my papers, pictures and elements to come up with this layout:

“My Hero”Template: iToons by Liv.e Designs
Kit: Super Kid by Inspiredbydominic Designs (Releases 6/27/13)

You can’t see it very well, but I used a halftone overlay on the pictures. I don’t think these photos show the effect as nicely as the ones in yesterday’s layout. Thanks Photoshop Elements, thanks. In yesterday’s layout, I used the halftone filter (Filter-> Sketch-> Halftone pattern). This layout I copied all of my photos into a grayscale page (Mode-> Grayscale) to use the halftone pattern (does anyone know why I can’t apply the pattern anymore to a color photo?!). This morning, I really was grumpy because I DID NOT like how these photos turned out. Guess where I went… if you said Google you win! Google was only so helpful. I found many techniques for halftoning in Photoshop but information on Photoshop Elements was pretty limited. What I did find was this great gem on Draconianrain’s Blog, of how to halftone a drawing, that helped me notice I had another filter option! The Halftone color! (Filter-> Pixelate-> Color Halftone) It gave me a better overlay to work with but I will have to play around with the settings some more! Do you want to see how I did it with a picture? Here you go, just click a picture to make it bigger if you can’t see all the details:

Step 1: Duplicate layer. I always, always try to remember to do this as it’s a lot easier to scrap edits and start over!

Duplicate layer

Step 2: Filter-> Pixelate-> Color Halftone

Filter-> Pixelate-> Color Halftone

Step 3: Change your settings. I used the settings pictured. The smaller the number, the smaller the “dots”.

Change settings
Color Halftone close up

Step 4: Opacity and blending mode options. I ended up duplicating my background again and setting the blend mode to Soft light to up the contrast:

Soft Light blend mode for middle layer

The top layer that has the Color Halftone filter is set to Overlay blend mode:

Halftone layer set to Overlay

And you know what? While looking at this picture I realized why I was having issues with my half tone pattern. Do you see the two black boxes on the bottom left? They are the foreground and background color. They shouldn’t both be black if I want to see a pattern! Sigh, at least I figured out what I was doing wrong, and I found another way to create a halftone look! So, if you want to do it the easy way… follow above steps until you get to choosing Color Halftone filter. Use Filter-> Sketch-> Halftone Pattern

Filter-> Sketch-> Halftone Pattern settings (Size 3, Contrast 30)

Take a look at those little boxes on the bottom left… One’s now black (the colors the dots will be) and the other one is white (what the background color will be). I then set the top (Halftone Pattern layer) to Overlay blend mode. I duplicated the background layer again and set it to Screen blend and 50% opacity.

Middle layer Screen blend, 50% Opacity

Is anyone still with me? Well that’s three ways to create a halftone effect on your pictures (or on anything really!)… I hope your eyes didn’t glaze over too much! If you have any questions, leave me a comment or as I said, if there’s anything you are interested in “seeing how it’s done” I’ll do my best to lay out a how-to on a “Template Tuesday” for you! As always…

BeeTreeSig-web

15 thoughts on “Template Tuesday – June 25, 2013

    1. YouTube can be a great help! I’ve also learned so much on Facebook believe it or not! I’ve been able to find some great scrapbooking groups and friends! I’ve been teaching my mother off and on as well, once you get it down you go “Oh! This is what everyone is talking about!” =) Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

